Erasmus Mundus Master Scholarships in Sustainable Tropical Forestry (SUTROFOR) 2011

The MSc programme in Sustainable Tropical Forestry (SUTROFOR) is a top-level programme aimed at preparing qualified graduates to deal with contemporary tropical forestry. It provides students with direct access to the best tropical forestry teaching in Europe.

The programme is offered by a five university consortium from Denmark, France, Germany, Italy and Wales. The programme consists of a year of study in one of three institutions (Bangor, Copenhagen, Dresden) followed by a second study year at one of the four other institutions. The aim of the first year is to provide a thorough and broad introduction to sustainable tropical forestry. This allows students to choose freely among the five specialisation options in the second year. The first year ends with the Joint Summer Module including field work in a tropical country. Specialisation options in the second year are agroforestry systems (Bangor), socio-economics of tropical forestry (Copenhagen), tropical forest management (Dresden), environmental management and policies for tropical forests (Montpellier), or ethics in forestry and responsible trade in tropical forest products and services (Padova). The teaching staff is very active in research and students profit from their global expertise.

The SUTROFOR offers an integrated study programme with a resulting double degree that is fully recognised in all the participating countries. Selection requires a strong Bachelor’s degree, the applicant’s CV, documentation of proficiency in English (and if choosing Montpellier, French in some cases), the applicant’s personal statement of motivation, and recommendations from two references. The language of instruction is English with a French option in Montpellier.

Category A Scholarships for Third-country nationals: Total 48.000 EUR

Category A scholarships can be awarded to masters students from all countries other than the 27 EU member states and EEA/EFTA states: Iceland, Lichtenstein and Norway. Furthermore, you must comply with the 12 months rule: You must not be a resident nor have carried out main activity (studies, work etc.) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in one of these countries.

Category B Scholarships for European nationals: Total 20.000 EUR

Category B scholarships can be awarded to any masters students who do not fullfil the criteria A defined above, i.e nationality requirement and 12 months rule.

For both categories please note:

  1. You must study in two of the consortium partner countries.
  2. The two countries must be different from the country in which you have obtained your last university degree.

It is possible to be admitted to the Course, even though you are not awarded a scholarship. You will then have to cover EM SUTROFOR participatory costs. If you finance your study yourself, you are allowed to study in the country of your last university degree.

Deadline for Non-EU students is 1 December 2010

For further information, please see the application form for Non-EU students

Read more:

Template Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes